Madeline Gallucci and Will Preman Open Studios Collaboration

Madeline Gallucci

Madeline Gallucci
Collaboration has always been an important aspect to my artistic practice. I have been involved in different projects with other artists, as well as working with the KC-based performance group Whoop Dee Doo. Whoop Dee Doo taught me the importance of letting go within my work- to allow chance and trust with another person.  This lead to an important development within my individual studio practice. Often times a drawing will never reach a final “finished” state. I am more interested in how the drawing begins to evolve as it becomes layered with other materials.

Pile for Collaboration

As a printmaking major during my time at KCAI, I recognized the energy that flowed between artists working so closely together. The nature of a print shop requires technical/mechanical assistance, a natural collaboration between students, that requires careful listening and timely response. Though I strayed from print-based work, I was still intrigued by a collaborative environment that I naturally carried into my residency with Charlotte Street Foundation.

Madeline Gallucci2

After much admiration for each other’s work, Will Preman and I began a small collaboration. It began as a discussion of ideas, objects and artists that interested us, but soon grew into an exchange of drawings. We began to repurpose old works, and layer our scrap pieces to create new imagery. With no real end product in sight, I am most excited about the energy exchanged in the process of making, the new perspective we each bring to old works, as well as creating imagery specifically for the other person.

Pen Plotter

-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

Will Preman

Will Preman

Since being a Charlotte Street Foundation’s Urban Culture Project resident, I have focused my artistic practice around experimentation and developing my art in a new direction from undergraduate study.  I am currently making two-dimensional drawings that use a machine called a pen plotter that converts drawings made on the computer to paper.  This conversion isn’t always perfect, pens and markers occasionally bleed, leak, or skip over certain areas.  I find myself drawn to both the careful precision and the occasional slipups of the machine as well as my hand.

Will Mad Collaboration3

Working around and with artists I respect has always served as constant motivation for my own studio practice.  Madeline Gallucci and I have known each other for a number of years, but have never had the opportunity to work together.  Madeline and I share many similar sensibilities regarding subject matter, layering of content, and process.  These similarities allow for a certain trust to happen between us. There is no fear of ruining the other’s artwork, which gives each other a lot of freedom.  Our goal for this collaboration is not strict.  We hope to open up new ideas and unexpected directions for our individual work and work make together.

Will Mad Collaboration1

See both Will Preman and Madeline Gallucci’s individual and collaborative works at Open Studios Weekend on March 8th and 9th! Madeline’s studio is located in Town Pavilion while Will’s studio is located at pARTnership Place.

Leave a Reply

